Look What We’ve Brought You from Korea

I guess you could say this book helped inspire this blog. A couple of years ago, I was looking for some hands-on advice on implementing some Korean culture into our family. And as I was looking through our library’s offerings, I came upon this book.

Look What We’ve Brought You from Korea by Phyllis Shalant is a children’s book about Korean culture. It includes a little of everything–information about holidays, games, and even recipes.

My favorite part of this book is how-to part. How to make and play some traditional Korean games. How to perform the traditional bow for Lunar New Year. It even has a how-to introduction to the language. It’s a resource that our family turns to again and again.

One drawback is that the book is out of print. However, you can find it online from used bookstores. I found our copy from http://www.alibris.com, but I believe some the secondary sellers on Amazon.com have it as well. If you’re persistent you can find a bargain. I got our copy for about $6.

Leave a Reply

