Update: Mu Guk (무국)

Well, after months of practice and trying several different recipes, my son says I’ve finally perfected my 무국 (mu guk) recipe. For him that means it tastes close to dish served at our favorite Korean restaurant. While I blogged about mu guk in May (a post in which I linked to three different recipes), I thought I’d share the recipe I now use for this dish.

Korean radish

Ingredients
1/2 or 1 Korean radish (daikon)
1 Tbsp sesame oil
1-2 cloves garlic, minced
5 c. chicken broth
5 c. water
2-3 green onions, chopped
2 Tbsp. soup soy sauce (국간장)

1. Slice radish in squares about 1/2-inch thick.
2. In a large pot, saute the radish and minced garlic in sesame oil for about five minutes.
3. Add broth and water, bring to a boil, lower heat, and simmer until radish is tender. (Our family likes the radish really tender so we let the soup simmer for about 30 minutes.)
4. Once radish is tender, add green onion and let cook another minute.
5. Stir in soup soy sauce.

Serve with rice and banchan.

Leave a Reply

