Korea Times Language Flashcards

I love finding new language resources. While my favorite by far is still TalkToMeInKorean.com, it’s nice to mix things up from time to time. And I like things that are portable so I can study on the go. So these flashcards fit the bill.

These cards are done by the Korea Times, an English language newspaper for Korean news. There are more than 350 flashcards available right now, each covering one topic. The topics range from soccer to government to food.

Some of them are funny and you’ll wonder when you would ever use that word or phrase. But there’s some useful stuff there too.

Here’s the link that should take you to page one of available flashcards. www.koreatimes.co.kr/www/news/art/art_list.asp?categoryCode=273&page=1

2 thoughts on “Korea Times Language Flashcards

  1. Hi, I’m a fellow adoptive parent at the other end of the parenting journey. My kids turned 22 and 20 on April 5th.

    I happened to find your blog in a search for reactions to the adoption flashcards in the Korea Times series (cards 385 and 386). I don’t know if you’ve seen them, but want to point them out in case your readers stumble upon them in the series. Passing on the Korean Unwed Mothers Support Network’s response to them. It can be found at http://www.kumsn.org/main/index.php?mid=kumsn_to_media&document_srl=8054.

    • Margie, thanks for sharing that link and the perspective of the Korean Unwed Mothers Support Network. I agree that those two flashcards really didn’t do justice to the subject of adoption, especially the plight of Korean birth mothers. But many of the other cards, I thought, could be helpful in language learning, which is why I posted the flashcards as a language resource.

Leave a Reply

