Word Shower Web Site

OK, I know I just said that I’d be taking a break but my friend Amber just shared a language site with me that I have to pass on. It’s www.wordshowers.com/index.html

If you’re looking to build your Korean vocabulary, this is a great place to start. The site currently has more than 3,000 words available, broken down in to the categories of Nouns, Verbs, Adjectives, and Adverbs.

On the site you’ll see the word in hangul and hear audio of the pronunciation. Plus, there are MP3 files that you can download.

I think this one is going to be big for me since I’ve been longing for someway to build up my Korean vocabulary. While I love TalkToMeInKorean.com, I feel somewhat limited in the amount of vocabulary I learn in each lesson. TTMIK is great for explaining the language and sentence building, but I think this site will be a great resource for adding new words to make sentences with.

4 thoughts on “Word Shower Web Site

  1. Hi Amy! Love the vocabulary sight. I really want to work on Korean but language is just hard for me! I really just want to learn to speak but the Koreans are very into literacy, I understand, I just know it’s one of those things I am horrible at, so vocabulary is GREAT.

    • I was excited about this site, too, Andrea. It’s a great resource, especially since you can download the audio files and listen to them when you’re away from the computer. If you haven’t checked out TalkToMeInKorean.com, I highly recommend it. It’s very user-friendly and most lessons run between 10-15 minutes so fitting it in is doable, even given a busy schedule. I’ve learmed more from TTMIK than I have any other source, and it’s free.

    • At the top of each little box, is a button that says MP3. You should be able to click on that button and get the option to download the file.

      One note: Right now the download option is only working for the even-numbered cards. I’ve alerted the owner of the site so he knows about the glitch. However, like many of us, he’s working with volunteers to design and operate the site and has to wait until they have free time in their schedules to get it fixed.

      You can still listen to all of the words on the computer (even the odd-numbered lists). And the owner of Word Showers also told me that he’s hoping to have an iPhone app for the site in the future as well. I’m really looking forward to that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

