Dak Doritang (닭도리탕), aka spicy chicken stew

Our family can’t live without Korean food. (OK, we probably could but we’re much happier with a steady diet of Korean.) But having to use the slow cooker several days a week to accommodate our son’s taekwondo schedule has challenged me to find Korean recipes I can cook that way. This is the second one I’ve tried (kalbi jjim was the first). And it’s another keeper.

Dak doritang (닭도리탕) is a spicy chicken stew with potatoes and carrots. As usual, I combined pieces of about three different recipes to come up with this one. Since I’m the only one in my family that really likes spicy, I cut down the amount of hot pepper powder from the original recipes. One recipe I found called for 2-3 Tbs. of hot pepper paste plus an optional 1 Tbs. of hot pepper powder. I knew that would be too much for my family, but feel free to adjust the heat according to your family’s taste.

Ingredients:
2 large chicken breasts, cubed
4 medium potatoes, cubed
10 baby carrots, halved
1/2 of one large white onion
3 tsp. minced garlic
1 tsp. fresh grated ginger
1 Tbs. sugar
1 Tbs. hot pepper powder (adjust according to your family’s tastes)
1/3 c. soy sauce
2 c. water

Place everything in the slow cooker and cook on low for four to five hours. Serve with rice.

One thought on “Dak Doritang (닭도리탕), aka spicy chicken stew

  1. Pingback: Dak Bokkeum Tang ( Spicy Chicken Stew ) - My Korean Food

Leave a Reply

